The work of the Museum is guided by a governing body of members of the Society of the Cincinnati in the State of New Hampshire. These five individuals provide a link from the work of the Museum to the Society, which owns the two buildings and much of the collection the Museum highlights through its education programs and community events.

Board of Governors

Board of Governors members at the American Independence Museum oversee the day to day activity of the Museum and meet 8 times a year.


Ozzie Ayscue

Vice President

Paul Staller


Robert A. Casassa


Brian Lortie

Diane Devine
Rebecca Dunham
Julie D. Gilman
Bill Jordan
Kathleen Mahoney
Paul Marcus
Hugh L. Robinson II
Catherine Salterio
Terence Waldron


Working under the guidelines set forth by the Museum’s Strategic Plan and utilizing the Museum’s mission and vision in all aspects, Museum Ambassadors are a non-voting governing body of the institution.

Ambassadors are asked to attend one annual seminar to keep them abreast of Museum functions, support the Museum as members, and spread the Museum’s work and potential to new communities. Museum Ambassadors aid the organization in the following ways:

  • Connecting the organization to new and diverse communities.
  • Acting as an ambassador for the organization in their community and their world of work enhancing the organization’s visibility and reputation.
  • Providing expertise through personal involvement with other Museum committees.
  • Identifying other individuals who can support, in all different ways, the organization.
  • Being involved in specific educational or programming opportunities.
  • Assisting in fundraising for both annual giving and capital projects.


The American Independence Museum has many committees filled with members of our Board of Governors and members of the community at large who help direct the work of our organization.

American Independence Festival 
Exhibits Visioning
Facilities & Collections 
Museum Advancement 

For more information on our Governance Structure, please contact Emma Bray.